Next Generation 9-1-1 Committee

Note change in meeting time to 2pm Eastern, second Thursday of each month


To stay abreast of NG 911 issues and work with member states, federal agencies and other organizations to effect positive change in all mapping activities of the Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs) to integrate their work with the broad geospatial community.

Committee Charter

Click here to open Committee Charter.

Committee Roster

Ian Von Essen, Co-Chair, (WA)
Andy Rowan, Co-Chair, (NJ)

Ed Arabas, OR
Laura Blastic, MI
Cheryl Benjamin, NY
Brian Brady, AZ
Bill Burgess, NSGIC
Gar Clarke, NM
Brian Crumpler, VA
Tim De Troye, SC
Chris Diller, WI
Bill Farnsworth, ID
Sandra Gilstad, AZ
Jon Gottsegen, CO
Bert Granberg, UT
Andrew Griswold, TN
Phillip Henderson, AL
Charles Hickman, USGS
John Hoshal, MN
Bill Johnson, NY
Craig Johnson, LA
Barney Krucoff, MD
Nathan Lowry, CO
Jack Maguire, SC
Dan Miller, WA
Kenny Miller, MD
Jon Paoli, IA
Joy Paulus, WA
Dennis Pedersen, TN
Robert Pressley, NACo
Curtis Pulford, AZ
Dan Ross, MN
Joe Sewash, NC
Colter Sikora, WI
Tony Simental, WV
Cy Smith, OR
Jeff Smith, OH
Jim Steil, MS
Gene Trobia, AZ
Mike Vanhook, AL
Nathan Watermeier, NE
Martha Wells, Spatial Focus
Bob White, ME
Dan Widner, VA

Routine Meeting Schedule

Second Thursday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time.


Next Generation 9-1-1 Top Ten List for State Coordinators (PDF)


Survey Questions for Geospatial Capabilities of Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP) - This survey was created by the NG 9-1-1 Committee and reviewed by NENA. It was designed for use by individual states to determine the status of GIS implementation at PSAPs and to assist in planning for the implementation of Next Generation 9-1-1. It was created in SurveyMonkey and a copy of the survey can be transferred to your account. Contact Bill Burgess for a copy. The link above takes you to the survey template only, so that you can see the questions and potential answers.

To join a NENA Committee working on GIS standards and documents:

NENA published standards:

NENA Document Development and Approval Process (NENA-ADM-002.1) [A 2014 update is pending]:

NENA Master Glossary (NENA-ADM-000.18):

NENA NG9-1-1 Civic Location Data Exchange Format Standard (NENA-STA-004.1-2014):
Data elements for exchange of civic location addresses.

NENA Registry System:
Think of these as domain lists that may change over time. Two registries currently exist for 3 CLDXF elements.

Data Formats For ALI Related Data Exchange, MSAG & GIS Standard (3/28/2011):
Note the GIS Data Model on pages 83-102

GIS Data Collection and Maintenance Standard (6/17/2007):

Synchronizing GIS with MSAG & ALI Informational Document (9/8/2009):

NG9-1-1 Additional Data Standard (9/17/2009):

Meeting Minutes


February 24, 2015


January 9, 2014
March 20, 2014
May 19, 2014
July 10, 2014
September 17, 2014
October 9, 2014
December 11, 2014


January 10, 2013
March 14, 2013
April 11, 2013
June 13, 2013
September 12, 2013
October 31, 2013
December 12, 2013


January 12, 2012
April 12, 2012
July 12, 2012
September 13, 2012
October 11, 2012
December 13, 2012


March 31, 2011
May 12, 2011
July 14, 2011
August 11, 2011
September 28, 2011
October 13, 2011<
December 8, 2011